Nov 14 2012
While touring the historical markers of the Hatfield & McCoy feud, we stopped at the Coal House in Williamson,West Virginia. Built of coal masonry, the house is now used as the Tug Valley Chamber of Commerce.
The building’s construction in 1933 was organized as a publicity stunt by O.W. Evans of the Norfolk and Western Railway, who wished to create a symbol of the “Billion Dollar Coalfield” centered on Williamson. While it is known as the “Coal House”, it has never been a residence.
While looking over coal country memorabilia, the concierge told us about a UFO sighting a few days prior to our visit.
We also enjoyed her account of a visit from Frank & Mike from the popular television show, American Pickers. Having acquired a court document pertaining to the Hatfield & McCoy feud, Frank & Mike did some bartering and worked it out so that the chamber of commerce can now show the document in their showcase.
Comments Off on West Virginia Coal House